Source: www.thehindu.com Date: 2022-05-24

## CENTRE RECONSTITUTES INTER-STATE COUNCIL

Relevant for: Indian Polity | Topic: Issues and Challenges Pertaining to the Federal Structure, Dispute Redressal Mechanisms, and the Centre-State Relations

## **Amit Shah**

The Inter-State Council, which works to promote and support cooperative federalism in the country, has been reconstituted with Prime Minister Narendra Modi as Chairman and Chief Ministers of all States and six Union Ministers as members.

Ten Union Ministers will be the permanent invitees to the Inter-State Council, according to an official notification.

The government has also reconstituted the standing committee of the Inter-State Council with Union Home Minister Amit Shah as Chairman. The Union Ministers who were made members of the council are: Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Nirmala Sitharaman, Narendra Singh Tomar, Virendra Kumar, Hardeep Singh Puri, Nitin Gadkari, S. Jaishankar, Arjun Munda, Piyush Goyal, Dhamendra Pradhan, Pralhad Joshi, Ashwini Vaishnaw, Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, Kiren Rijiju and Bhupender Yadav.

The Chief Ministers of Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Gujarat, Maharashtra, Odisha, Punjab and Uttar Pradesh are also members of the standing committee of the Inter-State Council.

It will have continuous consultations and process matters for consideration of the council, process all matters pertaining to centre-state relations before they are taken up in the council.

## Our code of editorial values

**END** 

Downloaded from crackIAS.com

