Village Development Plan Vis-A-Vis Living Standards of SC Concentrated Villages

Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment

Village Development Plan Vis-A-Vis Living Standards of SC Concentrated Villages

Posted On: 26 JUL 2018 3:20PM by PIB Delhi

Pradhan Mantri Adarsh Gram Yojana (PMAGY) aims at overall development of selected SC majority villages so as to provide them with all the necessary facilities to ensure that the disparity between SC and non-SC population in terms of common socio-economic indicators is eliminated and the indicators are raised to at least the level of the national average. The performance of the scheme is being monitored in terms of achievement of the targets listed out in the Village Development Plan (VDP) prepared for each village.

Under the PMAGY the National Institute of Rural Development & Panchayati Raj (NIRD&PR) has been identified to provide technical resource support at the national level. At the State level, the State Govts. are to identify suitable Institutions for the purpose and the final view has to be taken by the concerned State Govts. in consultations with the Ministry.

A list of Institutions selected during the pilot phase including Himachal Pradesh is given below:

State	Institution			
Himachal Pradesh	a. Himachal Institute of Public Administration b. Dr. Y.S.Parmar University of Horticulture and Forestry, Solan			
Tamil Nadu	State Institute of Rural Development, Chennai			
Bihar	Government Technical Assistance Support Team (GTAST) Patna			
Rajasthan	Indira Gandhi Panchayati Raj&Gramin Vikas Sansthan, Jaipur			
Assam	National Institute of Rural Development, North Eastern Regional Centre, Guwah			

A total of 617 villages have so far been declared as 'Adarsh Village' by the respective State Governments consequent upon reduction of Physical and Social infrastructural gaps in Scheduled Caste Concentration villages during the last three years and the current years.

The district-wise details as below:

SI.No. Distri	ict Year	
---------------	----------	--

		2015-16	2016-17	2017-18	2018-19
1	Morigaon	50	-	-	-
2	Nagaon	50	-	-	-
3	Gaya	-	-		23
4	Shri Ganganagar	-	-	160	-
5	Hanumangarh	-	-	65	-
6	Solan	-	34	-	-
7	Sirmaur	-	10	-	-
8	Thiruvarur	-	157	-	-
9	Cuddalore	-	68	-	-

This information was given by Minister of State for Social Justice and Empowerment Shri Vijay Sampla in a written reply in Rajya Sabha today.

Sanjay Kumar/jk/SJ&E-5/26-07-2

(Release ID: 1540231) Visitor Counter : 90

END

Downloaded from crackIAS.com

© Zuccess App by crackIAS.com