www.pib.nic.in 2018-07-24

Development of Waterways Transport

Ministry of Shipping

Development of Waterways Transport

Posted On: 23 JUL 2018 4:20PM by PIB Delhi

Under Section 111 of the Major Port Trusts Act, 1963, directions have been issued by Government on 18th April 2018 to five Major Port Trusts viz. Paradip, Mormugao, JNPT, New Mangalore and Deendayal to take up development of the National Waterways (NWs) which are located in their vicinity. Details of the NWs allocated to these five Major Ports is as follows:

National Waterways allocated for development of Major Ports

1. New Mangalore Port Trust

SI. No.	National Waterway No.	Length (KM)	Details of Waterways
1	National Waterway 51	23	Kabini River
2	National Waterway 43	10	Gurupur River
3	National Waterway 52	53	Kali River
4	National Waterway 74	79	Netravathi River
5	National Waterway 90	29	Sharavati River
6	National Waterway 41	112	Ghataprabha River
7	National Waterway 67	94	Malaprabha River
8	National Waterway 104	232	Tungabhadra River
9	National Waterway 21	139	Bheema River

2. Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust

SI. No.	National Waterway No.	Length (KM)	Details of Waterways
1	National Waterway 10	45	Amba River
2	National Waterway 11	99	Arunavati-Aran River
3	National Waterway 28	45	Dabhol Creek-Vashisti River
4	National Waterway 53	145	Kalyan-Thane-Mumbai Waterway Vasai Creek Ulhas River

5	National Waterway 70	245	Manjara River
6	National Waterway 72	59	Nag River
7	National Waterway 78	262	Penganga-Wardha River
8	National Waterway 85	31	Revdanda Creek- Kundalika River
9	National Waterway 89	46	Bankot Creek – Savitri Rover
10	National Waterway 100	436	Tapi River
11	National Waterway 109	166	Wainganga-Pranahita River

3. Deendayal Port Trust (Kandla)

SI. No.	National Waterway No.	Length (KM)	Details of Waterways
1.	National Waterway 66	248	Mahi River
2.	National Waterway 73	227	Narmada River
3.	National Waterway 100	436	Tapi River
4.	National Waterway 48	590	Jawai-Luni rivers and Rann of Kutch
5.	National Waterway 63	327	Luni River

4. Paradip Port Trust

SI. No.	National Waterway No.	Length (KM)	Details of Waterways
1.	National Waterway 5	332	Brahmani- Kharsua - Tantighai- PanduaNala- DedheiNala- KaniDhamra- river System, Geonkhali- Charbatia Stretch of East Coast canal, Charbatia- Dhamra Stretch of Matai River and Mahanadi Delta Rivers
2.	National Waterway 96	314	Subarnrekha River
3.	National Waterway 14	49	Baitarni River
4.	National Waterway 64	425	Mahanadi River stretch from Paradip to Cuttack.

5. Mormugao Port Trust

SI. No.	National Waterway No.	Length (KM)	Details of Waterways
1.	National Waterway 68	41	Mandovi River
2.	National Waterway 27	17	Cumberjua River
3.	National Waterway 111	50	Zuari River

4.	National Waterway 25	33	Chapora River
5.	National Waterway 71	27	Mapusa River

The Major Ports will undertake the development of National Waterways through release of grants by the Inland Waterways Authority of India. Among the NWs earmarked for development by the Major Ports NW-27, 68, 111 in Goa; NW-10 and 85 in Maharashtra and NW-100 in Gujarat and operationalised and no time frame has been fixed for operationalising the remaining NWs.

This information was given by the Minister of State for Shipping, Road Transport and Highways and Chemical & Fertilisers Shri Mansukh L Mandaviya in a written reply to a question in Rajya Sabha today.

NP/MS/MS

(Release ID: 1539654) Visitor Counter: 184

Read this release in: Marathi

END

Downloaded from crackIAS.com
© Zuccess App by crackIAS.com