Source: www.pib.gov.in Date: 2023-01-09

108TH INDIAN SCIENCE CONGRESS CONCLUDES

Relevant for: null | Topic: Important Schemes & Programmes of the Government

Nagpur, January 7, 2023

India has a glorious tradition of scientific development. The Indian Science Congress has played a pivotal role in nurturing and furthering this tradition. Nobel Laureate Dr. Ada Yonath appealed all to take this glorious tradition ahead.



The 108th Indian Science Congress organised at Rashtrasant Tukdoji Maharaj Nagpur University concluded today. Ada Yonath was the chief guest for the Valedictory Function. The ceremony was held at the main venue. The President of the Indian Science Congress, Dr Vijayalakshmi Saxena, Vice Chancellor Dr Subhash Chaudhari, Divisional Commissioner, Nagpur Dr Vijayalakshmi Bidri and the newly elected President of the Indian Science Congress - Dr Arvind Saxena were present on the occasion.

In her speech, Yonath said, she has continued her scientific research even after two decades of being awarded the Nobel Prize. According to her, a researcher should never discontinue research work. She said, Indian scientists Dr Tanaya Bose and Dr Venkatraman Ramkrishnan helped her in the research. "I have always had high regards for Indian scientists. My guide Dr Ramchandran was an Indian scientist. He introduced me to the rich traditions followed by Indian scientists. The 108th Indian Science Congress has been extremely crucial in taking the glorious traditions ahead. Let's take the same to new heights", she appealed to the Ministry of Science and Technology.



Dr Vijayalakshmi Bidri said, "This national level event organised at Nagpur has been of great importance in boosting scientific temperament and love for science in the society."

Dr. Vijayalakshmi Saxena said that the Tribal Science Congress was organized for the first time. It received a good response at all levels. She informed that more than three thousand research papers were presented while more than fifty thousand delegates participated in the various events. She also expressed satisfaction that the event was a success in all respects.



Vice-Chancellor Dr Subhash Chaudhary thanked the local administration and educational institutions for their cooperation in organizing the Indian Science Congress. He also expressed his satisfaction that the Vigyan Mahakumbha was successfully organised after 50 years, in the centenary year of the university.

At the end of the program, outgoing president, Dr. Vijayalakshmi Saxena handed over the torch of the next Indian Science Congress to the newly appointed president, Dr. Arvind Saxena.



Awards to Scientists:

Ashut Mukherjee Memorial Award - Prof. Ajay Kumar Sood

- Dr. C. V. Raman Birth Centenary Award Prof. S. R. Niranjana
- S. N. Bose Birth Centenary Award Prof. Subhash Chandra Parija
- S. K. Mitra Birth Centenary Award Dr. Ranjan Kumar Nandy
- H. J. Bhabha Memorial Award Dr. Kaushal Prasad Mishra
- D. S. Kothari Memorial Award Dr. Shyamal Roy



Names of other award winners are as follows:

Prof. R. C. Mehrotra Memorial Life Time Achievement Award – Dr. U. C. Banerjee - Amity University, Mohali.

Prof. S. S. Katiyar Endowment Lecture Award – Dr. Kesturu S. Girish – Tumkur University, Karnataka.

Prof. Archana Sharma Memorial Award in Plant Science - Dr. Rajiv Pratap Singh - BHU,

Varanasi

G. K. Manna Memorial Award – Dr. Basant Kumar Das – ICAR Kolkata

Source: DIO Nagpur

PIB Mumbai | Nikita / Radhika / Parshuram

Follow us on social media: @PIBMumbai
//PIBMumbai
/pibmumbai
/pibmumbai

Nagpur, January 7, 2023

India has a glorious tradition of scientific development. The Indian Science Congress has played a pivotal role in nurturing and furthering this tradition. Nobel Laureate Dr. Ada Yonath appealed all to take this glorious tradition ahead.



The 108th Indian Science Congress organised at Rashtrasant Tukdoji Maharaj Nagpur University concluded today. Ada Yonath was the chief guest for the Valedictory Function. The ceremony was held at the main venue. The President of the Indian Science Congress, Dr Vijayalakshmi Saxena, Vice Chancellor Dr Subhash Chaudhari, Divisional Commissioner, Nagpur Dr Vijayalakshmi Bidri and the newly elected President of the Indian Science Congress - Dr Arvind Saxena were present on the occasion.

In her speech, Yonath said, she has continued her scientific research even after two decades of being awarded the Nobel Prize. According to her, a researcher should never discontinue research work. She said, Indian scientists Dr Tanaya Bose and Dr Venkatraman Ramkrishnan helped her in the research. "I have always had high regards for Indian scientists. My guide Dr Ramchandran was an Indian scientist. He introduced me to the rich traditions followed by Indian scientists. The 108th Indian Science Congress has been extremely crucial in taking the glorious traditions ahead. Let's take the same to new heights", she appealed to the Ministry of Science and Technology.



Dr Vijayalakshmi Bidri said, "This national level event organised at Nagpur has been of great importance in boosting scientific temperament and love for science in the society."

Dr. Vijayalakshmi Saxena said that the Tribal Science Congress was organized for the first time. It received a good response at all levels. She informed that more than three thousand research papers were presented while more than fifty thousand delegates participated in the various events. She also expressed satisfaction that the event was a success in all respects.



Vice-Chancellor Dr Subhash Chaudhary thanked the local administration and educational institutions for their cooperation in organizing the Indian Science Congress. He also expressed his satisfaction that the Vigyan Mahakumbha was successfully organised after 50 years, in the centenary year of the university.

At the end of the program, outgoing president, Dr. Vijayalakshmi Saxena handed over the torch of the next Indian Science Congress to the newly appointed president, Dr. Arvind Saxena.



Awards to Scientists:

Ashut Mukherjee Memorial Award - Prof. Ajay Kumar Sood

- Dr. C. V. Raman Birth Centenary Award Prof. S. R. Niranjana
- S. N. Bose Birth Centenary Award Prof. Subhash Chandra Parija
- S. K. Mitra Birth Centenary Award Dr. Ranjan Kumar Nandy
- H. J. Bhabha Memorial Award Dr. Kaushal Prasad Mishra
- D. S. Kothari Memorial Award Dr. Shyamal Roy



Names of other award winners are as follows:

Prof. R. C. Mehrotra Memorial Life Time Achievement Award – Dr. U. C. Banerjee - Amity University, Mohali.

Prof. S. S. Katiyar Endowment Lecture Award – Dr. Kesturu S. Girish – Tumkur University, Karnataka.

Prof. Archana Sharma Memorial Award in Plant Science - Dr. Rajiv Pratap Singh - BHU,

Varanasi
G. K. Manna Memorial Award – Dr. Basant Kumar Das – ICAR Kolkata

Source: DIO Nagpur

PIB Mumbai | Nikita / Radhika / Parshuram

Follow us on social media: QPIBMumbai
/PIBMumbai
/pibmumbai
/pibmumbai

END

Downloaded from crackIAS.com
© Zuccess App by crackIAS.com