Source: www.pib.gov.in Date: 2023-02-09

## ENQUIRY INTO MAHATMA GANDHI NATIONAL RURAL EMPLOYMENT GUARANTEE ACT (MNREGA) AND PRADHAN MANTRI AWAAS YOJNA (PMAY) WORKS

Relevant for: null | Topic: Important Schemes & Programmes of the Government

In order to monitor the progress of implementation of Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act, (Mahatma Gandhi NREGA), and Pradhan Mantri Awaas Yojna-Gramin (PMAY-G) independent agencies empanelled as National Level Monitors (NLMs) with the Ministry of Rural Development were deputed to conduct special monitoring visit.

NLM Agencies were required to visit the selected districts to observe and monitor the progress made under the programme and assess the quality of implementation therein.

The special monitoring visit has been conducted in three phases. The Phase-I was conducted in the month of January 2022 and covered 90 districts of 11 States. The Phase-II visit was conducted in the month of May, 2022 and covered 115 districts of 26 States. The Phase III visit was conducted in the month of August- September, 2022. It covered 114 districts of 25 States.

The names of the States/UTs covered under the special monitoring visit by NLMs in three phases are given as follows:

Names of the States/UTs covered under the special monitoring visit by NLMs in three phases

pilases	
	S. No.
State/UT	
	1
Andhra Pradesh	
	2
Arunachal Pradesh	
	3
Assam	
	4
Bihar	
	5
Chhattisgarh	

	6
Gujarat	7
Haryana	
Himachal Pradesh	8
Timachar Fragosii	9
Jammu &Kashmir	
Jharkhand	10
	11
Karnataka	40
Kerala	12
	13
Madhya Pradesh	14
Maharashtra	
	15
Manipur	16
Meghalaya	
Mizorom	17
Mizoram	18
Nagaland	
	19

Odisha		
	20	
Punjab		
	21	
Rajasthan		
	22	
Tamil Nadu		
	23	
Telangana*		
	24	
Tripura		
	25	
Uttar Pradesh		
	26	
Uttarakhand		
	27	
West Bengal		
	na was not covered for special monitor	ing under PMAV C
NOTE. STATE OF FRANCAL	ia was noi covered tot special monitor	IIIU UIIUEI EIVIA I "\].

Note: \* State of Telangana was not covered for special monitoring under PMAY-G.

During January-February, 2023, the empanelled National Level Monitors (NLMs) have been deputed in 25 States/ UTs viz. Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Mizoram, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh, Uttrakhand and West Bengal for conducting Regular Monitoring Phase-I of major schemes of Ministry of Rural Development (including Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme, PMAY-G).

Release of funds to State of West Bengal under Mahatma Gandhi NREGA has been stopped under provision of Section 27 of Mahatma Gandhi NREG Act.

This information was given by the Union Minister of State for Rural Development, Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti in a written reply in Rajya Sabha today.

## SNC/NR/PK

In order to monitor the progress of implementation of Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Act, (Mahatma Gandhi NREGA), and Pradhan Mantri Awaas Yojna-Gramin (PMAY-G) independent agencies empanelled as National Level Monitors (NLMs) with the Ministry of Rural Development were deputed to conduct special monitoring visit.

NLM Agencies were required to visit the selected districts to observe and monitor the progress made under the programme and assess the quality of implementation therein.

The special monitoring visit has been conducted in three phases. The Phase-I was conducted in the month of January 2022 and covered 90 districts of 11 States. The Phase-II visit was conducted in the month of May, 2022 and covered 115 districts of 26 States. The Phase III visit was conducted in the month of August- September, 2022. It covered 114 districts of 25 States.

The names of the States/UTs covered under the special monitoring visit by NLMs in three phases are given as follows:

Names of the States/UTs covered under the special monitoring visit by NLMs in three phases

	S. No.
State/UT	
	1
Andhra Pradesh	
	2
Arunachal Pradesh	
	3
Assam	
	4
Bihar	
	5
Chhattisgarh	
	6
Gujarat	
	7

B   Himachal Pradesh   9   Jammu &Kashmir   10   Jharkhand   11   Karnataka   12   Kerala   13   Madhya Pradesh   14   Maharashtra   15   Manipur   16   Meghalaya   17   Manipur   16   Meghalaya   17   Manipur   17   Manipur   18   Manipur   18   Meghalaya   17   Manipur   18   Meghalaya   17   Manipur   18   Meghalaya   17   Manipur   18   Meghalaya   17   Meghalaya   17   Meghalaya   17   Meghalaya   18   Meghalaya   17   Meghalaya   18   Meghalaya   18   Meghalaya   18   Meghalaya   18   Meghalaya   Meghalaya   18   Meghalaya   18   Meghalaya   18   Meghalaya   Meghalaya   17   Meghalaya   18   Meghalaya   18   Meghalaya   Meghal
Jammu &Kashmir  10  Jharkhand  11  Karnataka  12  Kerala  13  Madhya Pradesh  14  Maharashtra  15  Manipur  16  Meghalaya  17
Jammu &Kashmir  10  Jharkhand  11  Karnataka  12  Kerala  13  Madhya Pradesh  14  Maharashtra  15  Manipur  16  Meghalaya  17
Jammu &Kashmir  10  Jharkhand  11  Karnataka  12  Kerala  13  Madhya Pradesh  14  Maharashtra  15  Manipur  16  Meghalaya  17
10
Jharkhand       11         Karnataka       12         Kerala       13         Madhya Pradesh       14         Maharashtra       15         Manipur       16         Meghalaya       17
11   Karnataka
Karnataka  12  Kerala  13  Madhya Pradesh  14  Maharashtra  15  Manipur  16  Meghalaya  17
Kerala  13  Madhya Pradesh  14  Maharashtra  15  Manipur  16  Meghalaya  17
Kerala  13  Madhya Pradesh  14  Maharashtra  15  Manipur  16  Meghalaya  17
Madhya Pradesh  14  Maharashtra  15  Manipur  16  Meghalaya  17
Madhya Pradesh  14  Maharashtra  15  Manipur  16  Meghalaya  17
Madhya Pradesh  14  Maharashtra  15  Manipur  16  Meghalaya  17
Maharashtra  15  Manipur  16  Meghalaya  17
Maharashtra  15  Manipur  16  Meghalaya  17
Manipur  16  Meghalaya  17
Manipur  16  Meghalaya  17
16 Meghalaya 17
Meghalaya 17
17
Mizoram
18
Nagaland
19
Odisha
20
Punjab

	21
Rajasthan	
	22
Tamil Nadu	
	23
Telangana*	
	24
Tripura	
	25
Uttar Pradesh	
	26
Uttarakhand	
	27
West Bengal	

Note: \* State of Telangana was not covered for special monitoring under PMAY-G.

During January-February, 2023, the empanelled National Level Monitors (NLMs) have been deputed in 25 States/ UTs viz. Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Mizoram, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh, Uttrakhand and West Bengal for conducting Regular Monitoring Phase-I of major schemes of Ministry of Rural Development (including Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee Scheme, PMAY-G).

Release of funds to State of West Bengal under Mahatma Gandhi NREGA has been stopped under provision of Section 27 of Mahatma Gandhi NREG Act.

This information was given by the Union Minister of State for Rural Development, Sadhvi Niranjan Jyoti in a written reply in Rajya Sabha today.

\*\*\*\*

## SNC/NR/PK

**END** 

